Saturday: Hear Now + LACO, 2017

Saturday, April 29 at 8:00 pm
Chamber Music Concert
In collaboration with Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
at First Lutheran Church of Venice
A tribute to Jeffrey Kahane, LACO Music Director and Conductor
for having consistently commissioned and programmed pieces by living Los Angeles composers during his tenure with the orchestra
The program includes works by two of the many Los Angeles composers commissioned by LACO under Jeffrey Kahane’s musical leadership, Ted Hearne and current LACO composer-in-residence Andrew Norman. Plus you’ll hear composers David Lefkowitz, David Hertzberg, Russell Steinberg, and Thomas Kotcheff. As a special gift, Jeffrey Kahane performs Gabriel Kahane’s piano solo Works on Paper; Lyris Quartet – the Hear Now resident quartet, Brightwork newmusic and other fine musicians complete the artist roster.
Photo: Colorado Symphony Orchestra
           Hearne                       Norman                       Kahane                       Lefkowitz
                           Hertzberg                  Steinberg                  Kotcheff
“A diverse display of new music it was, spanning nearly four generations of living Los Angeles composers and a cross-section of idioms…. the performances were technically top-notch, often reaching deep into the music for that something extra…”  (Richard Ginell, Out of the West)
Saturday, April 29 at 8:00 pm
First Lutheran Church of Venice
TED HEARNE:              By-By Huey
  Brightwork newmusic
ANDREW NORMAN:     Mine, Mime, Meme 
  Brightwork newmusic
GABRIEL KAHANE:      Works on Paper 
  Jeffrey Kahane, piano
DAVID LEFKOWITZ:    Love Fragments
  Adriana Manfredi, mezzo
  Alison Bjorkedal, harp
  Luke Maurer, viola
DAVID HERTZBERG:    Méditation Boréale (WC Premiere)
  Lyris Quartet
RUSSELL STEINBERG: Subterranean Dance (WC Premiere)
  Brightwork newmusic
THOMAS KOTCHEFF:   scratch cradle 
  Lyris Quartet